Being a Mom

So I Was Thinking…about being a mom.  I’ve spent the last three days caring for Danny who has had a mean and nasty stomach bug.  It’s been three long days (and nights) of non-stop action.  You’d think I could have done so much around the house, read a book or two, or even completed a craft project.  But, that is not the case.  My time was spent rubbing Danny’s back, kissing his forehead to check his temperature, getting him to sip water, and just plain old worrying.

We visited the doctor yesterday and she had me take him for x-rays, blood work, and the old “peeing in the cup.”  Which let me tell you was the worst of all as he had nothing in him!  She wanted to check and make sure it wasn’t appendicitis (and it wasn’t), or an intestinal blockage (and it wasn’t).  At one point in the doctor’s office Danny told me he was scared.  That’s when “Mommy mode” kicked in.  I am so not a doctor/hospital person at all, and I was scared too…what if it was appendicitis?  What if he did have a blockage?  I mean I am a major worrier.  But, I knew I had to suck it up and put on my “big girl panties” for Danny.  I told him not to worry, that they were just checking to make sure he didn’t have those things going on, and he was going to be fine.

All his little pale face with his sad, tired looking eyes needed was to see me smile at him, and he was ok.  The power of Mom.  It makes you think just how important you are to your children.  How what you think and say really does matter (at least until they turn 16…haha).  I kept thinking back to the birthday card Danny gave me last week.  Paul told me that he spent a long time picking out the card, and that he really wanted to do it all by himself.

Mom,
You were my first teacher,
the wisest,
smartest woman
I ever met.
You showed me
everything from
how to spot a rainbow
to recognizing
the beauty
of a single flower.

You knew how
to teach me
about the most
beautiful things in life,
because you’re one of them.
Happy Birthday

If only he knew…if only he realized that I just go day-by-day trying to make the right choices and teach him the right things.  Trying to live up to the awesome role God gave me of being his Mom.  If only he knew that he (and his brother) are the most beautiful things in my life…

Yes, I probably am delirious from lack of sleep, but at the same time I feel that I have been given yet another gift during one more trying time down the road of motherhood.  And I’ll take it.

2 thoughts on “Being a Mom

  1. This is so true. It’s so easy to forget, day by day, how very important we are to them, how important our reactions and choices are. Hope Danny feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

