Summer Reading…Ahhh

So I  was thinking…about summer reading.  It was an absolute zoo at work today!  We barely had time to stop and take a break.  But you know what?  It did my heart good to see the Children’s Room so packed with patrons.  It’s wonderful that so many people still savor the wonderful act of summer reading.

I remember when I was young, I would walk down to the library and checkout an armload of books to bring home and read under the big tree in my backyard.  I would literally sit there for hours getting lost in my books.  This special memory is triggered each time a child comes up to the desk and checks out one of the books that I enjoyed at that age.  I always tell them to cherish these moments.  Then I heave a little sigh for those carefree days gone by.

So today I encourage you to take a trip to your library and checkout an armload of books.  Encourage your children to do the same.  It’s definitely one of the bright spots of summer…ahhh!

Oh, by the way, if you’re reading anything good this summer please comment below and tell me what it is.  I am always on the lookout for another great read.  If you’re looking for a good book to read, click here and you’ll find the latest bestsellers list from the New York Times.

2 thoughts on “Summer Reading…Ahhh

Leave a Reply

